Meade County

US States / O-U / South Dakota / Meade County

Meade County is named for Fort Meade which was named after General George Meade, who was the commander of the Army of the Potomac during the Anmerican Civil War.   


Created :   February 7, 1889

 County Seat:

Sturgis  1889 – present


County Courthouse – Sturgis


Location:  1425 Sherman Street / 5th Street

Built:  1964 – 1965

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Gay and Gass

Contractor:  Brezina Construction Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red-brown colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of the city. The walls are red-brown colored with white colored cement corners and pillars. There is a white colored cement base. A large white colored concrete band surrounds the roof line. The main entrance is located on the south side of the building. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by J I Golbarth and constructed by William H Grams in 1894. The build was razed when the present courthouse was constructed.


County Administration – Sturgis




Location:  1300 Sherman Street / 4th Street

Built:  1900 – 1901

Style:  Modern / School

Architect:  Grams & Company.

Contractor:  Grams & Company.


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red-brown colored sandstone, concrete and glass school style structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The east front has a high square central tower with arched entrance on the first story. The roof is hipped. The building is named as the Erskine Office Building. The building was constructed as the Erskine School. Additions were constructed on the west side in 1911 and 1926. The building was purchased by the county and renovated from 2008 to 2009. The architect was Williams Associates Architects and the contractor was Ainsworth-Benning Construction Inc. of Spearfish.


Note:  The cost of construction of the school was $10,150 and the cost of the renovation was $5,624,050.



N – Butte County and Perkins County

E – Ziebrach County and Haakon County

S – Pennington County

W – Lawrence County and Butte County





County Courthouse



















County Administration













Photos taken 2007, 3009 and 2011