Lawrence County

US States / O-U / South Dakota / Lawrence County

Lawrence County is named for John Lawrence of Yankton, who was a legislator in 1875.


Created:  January 11, 1875

County Seat:

Deadwood  1877 – present


County Courthouse – Deadwood


Location:  90 Sherman Street / Pine Street

Built:  1906 – 1908

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Belle and Detweiler of Minneapolis, Minnesota

Contractor:  Mullen and Munn of Deadwood


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story brownstone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The floors are composed of mosaic work and Greek fret borders near the walls. The second floor has ornate iron railing backed by golden oak. The building was renovated in 1990 and a new Annex was built to the south of the courthouse.



N – Butte County

E – Meade County

S – Pennington County

W – Weston County, Wyoming and Crook County, Wyoming





County Courthouse













Photos taken 2007 and 2011