Sumter County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Sumter County

Sumter County is named for Thomas Sumter, who was a Continental leader during the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  March 2, 1798

County Seat: 

Sumter  1798 – present


County Courthouse – Sumter  


Location:  141 North Main Street / East Canal Street

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  William August Edwards and Franck C Walter of Atlanta, Georgia

Contractor:  Morse DeLeon


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick, limestone, metal and concrete structure. The building has a large porch supported by six large white colored columns. The entrance is recessed with three large arched windows on the second story. A wide white colored header runs along the roof line with a balustrade above. The building was renovated from 1963 to 1965. The architect was James & DuRant & Associates of Sumter and the contractor was C B Askins Company of Lake City.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by William Jay and built in 1821. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $85,000.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Sumter County Courthouse


County Justice Center – Sumter  




Location:  North Harvin Street / East Canal Street

Built:  2011 – 2013

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Stevens & Wilkinson, Inc.

Contractor:  Thompson Turner Construction


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story brick and concrete structure.



N – Kershaw County and Lee County 

E – Florence County and Clarendon County

S – Clarendon County and Calhoun County

W – Richland County





























Photos taken 2008 and 2014