McCormick County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / McCormick County

McCormick County is named for Cyrus McCormick, who was the inventor of the mechanical reaper.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Abbeville County and Greenwood County

E – Greenwood County and Edgefield County

S – Columbia County, Georgia and Lincoln County, Georgia

W – Lincoln County, Georgia and Elbert County, Georgia 


Created:  February 19, 1916                  Map of South Carolina highlighting McCormick County

County Seat: 

McCormick  1916 – present


County Courthouse – McCormick 


Location:  125   South Mine Street / West Augusta Street

Built:  1923 – 1924

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  G Lloyd Preacher & Company Inc.

Contractor:  C W Cooper & Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story dark brown-red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of McCormick. The building has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns with a wide header along the top. Vertical white bands rise on either side of the doorway which is framed with white wood. A white colored horizontal cornice runs below the roof line. Above the portico, the roof forms a peak.


History:  The courthouse is the first and only courthouse erected in the county.




County Courthouse – McCormick










Photos taken 2008