Jasper County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Jasper County

Jasper County is named for William Jasper, who was a soldier in the American Revolutionary War.


Created:  January 30, 1912

County Seat: 

Ridgeland  1912 – present


County Courthouse – Ridgeland 


Location:  305 Russell Street / 2nd Avenue

Built:  1915 – 1916

Style:  Colonial Revival

Architect:  William Augustus Edwards of Darlington

Contractor:  C V York


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick, concrete, iron and wood structure. The building has a large portico supported by four large white colored columns with a pediment above. There is a white colored horizontal band above the second story windows.


Note:  The present courthouse is the first and only courthouse constructed in the county.


See:  Other courthouses designed by William Augustus Edwards are located in Abbeville County, Calhoun County, Dillon CountyLee County, Sumter County and York County.



N – Hampton County

E – Beaufort County

S – Atlantic Ocean and Chatham County, Georgia

W – Chatham County, Georgia and Effingham County, Georgia

















Photos taken 2008