Georgetown County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Georgetown County

Georgetown County is named for George II, King of Great Britain.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Marion County and Horry County

E – Atlantic Ocean

S – Charleston County and Berkley County

W – Williamsburg County


Created:  1769                                        Map of South Carolina highlighting Georgetown County

County Seat: 

Georgetown  1769 – present


County Courthouse – Georgetown  


Location: 715 Prince Street / Screvan Street

Built: 1823 – 1824

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect: Russell Warren

Contractor: Robert Mills of Charleston


Description: The building faces southeast and is a three story yellow colored stucco and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Georgetown. On the southeast is a porch with six large white colored columns rising on the second story to a pediment. The first story has an entrance arch at either end. The center section is recessed with the main entrance doorway. The southwest section has four square pillars rising to the top of the second story with a pediment above. In 1908 the west wing was added. The architect was Hamby & Hamby.


See:  The architect, Robert Mills of Charleston, designed courthouses in Colleton CountyEdgefield CountyFairfield County, Horry County, Lancaster County, Marion County and Williamsburg County.


History:  The first courthouse was built after 1769 and was destroyed by a hurricane. The second and presernt courthouse was constructed in 1823 to 1824.




County Courthouse – Georgetown



















Photos taken 2008