Florence County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Florence County

Florence County is named for Florence Harllee, who was a daughter of W W Harlle, a president of the Wilmington and Manchester Railroad.


Created:  December 22, 1888

County Seat: 

Florence  1888 – present


County Courthouse – Florence  


Location: 180 Irby Street / West N Baroody Street

Built: 1970 – 1972

Style: Modern

Architect: Gill & Wilkins

Contractor:  Dargan Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a twelve story concrete and stone structure. The central tower has vertical ridges projecting from the building and vertical window dividers. The north and south wings are three stories and have similar vertical lines. The east and west entrances are glass with vertical pillars. The building also houses the offices of the City of Florence.


County Judicial Center – Florence  


Location: 181 Irby Street / West N Baroody Street

Built: 2016 – 2018

Style: Modern

Architect: Stevens & Wilkinson of Columbia

Contractor: Unknown


Description: The building faces east  and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Florence. 


History:  The first courthouse was designed by Bruce & Morgan and constructed by S Bounds in 1892. The second courthouse was designed by Hopkins & Baker and constructed in 1935 to 1936. The third courthouse was constructed in 1970 to 1972. The Judicial Center was constructed in 2016 to 2018.



N – Darlington County and Dillon County

E – Marion County

S – Williamsburg County

W – Clarendon County, Sumter County and Lee County





County Courthouse – Florence













Photos taken 2008