Darlington County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Darlington County

Darlington County is named for Darlington, a city in England. Great Britain.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Chesterfield County

E – Marlboro County

S – Florence County

W – Lee County and Kershaw County


Created:  March 12, 1875                       Map of South Carolina highlighting Darlington County

County Seat: 

Darlington  1785 – present


County Courthouse – Darlington


Location:  1 Public Square / Pearl Street

Built:  1963 – 1964

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Gyles, Basset, Clarke & Wolf

Contractor:  General Construction Company


Description:  The building faces northwest and is a six story brick, concrete, stone and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Darlington. The base has large stone faced arches with the entrances being recessed. Narrow vertical bands divide the narrow vertical windows and buff brick vertical bands. The top of the building is faced with light stone. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County Circuit Court of the 4th Judicial Circuit.


See:  The architect William August Edwards designed other courthouses in Abbeville CountyCalhoun CountyDillon CountyJasper CountyKershaw County (former), Lee County, Sumter County and York County.


See:  The 4th Judicial Circuit includes Chesterfield CountyDillon County and Marlboro County


History:  The county was created in 1875 and Darlington was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1791 and burned in 1806. The second courthouse was built in Darlington and burned in 1866. The third courthouse was built in 1873. The fourth and previous courthouse was designed by Edwards & Walter and constructed by DeLeon & Lopez in 1903. The fifth courthouse was constructed in 1963.




County Courthouse – Darlington































Photos taken 2008 and 2020