Clarendon County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Clarendon County

Clarendon County is named for Edward Hyde, 1st Earl of Clarendon, who was one of the Lords Proprietors of the Province of South Carolina.


Created:  December 19, 1855

County Seat: 

Manning  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Union 


Location:  3 West Keitt Street / South Mill Street

Built:  1908 – 1909

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Shand & Lafaye Architects

Contractor:  T Jones Associates.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building has a large portico supported by four large columns rising to a wide brick and stone header. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line. The roof is hipped. The building was restored in 1969. The architect was James & DuRant, Inc & Associates and the contractor was Boyle Construction Company.


Note:  The previous courthouse was built in 1878.



N – Sumter County and Florence County

E – Williamsburg County

S – Berkeley County and Orangeburg County

W – Orangeburg County and Calhoun County

















Photos taken 2008