Calhoun County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Calhoun County

Calhoun County is named for John C Calhoun, who was a United States statesman and Vice President.


Created:  February 14, 1908

County Seat: 

St. Matthews  1908 – present


County Courthouse – St. Matthews 


Location:  102 Courthouse Drive / Mill Street

Built:  1913 – 1914

Style:  Georgian Revival

Architect:  William Augustus Edwards of Darlington

Contractor:  W R Rose


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story buff colored brick structure. The building has a large center portico with four large white colored columns rising to a pediment at the roof line. The window on the second story under the portico is arched. On the center of the roof is a small cupola.


Note: Other courthouses designed by William Augustus Edwards are located in Abbeville County, Dillon County, Jasper County, Lee CountySumter County and York County.



N – Richland County

E – Sumter County and Clarendon County

S – Orangeburg County

W – Lexington County














Photos taken 2008