Barnwell County

US States / O-U / South Carolina / Barnwell County

Barnwell County is named for John Barnwell, who was an American Revolutionary War figure who died in 1800.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Orangeburg County

E – Bamberg County

S – Allendale County and Burke County, Georgia

W – Aiken County


Created:  1785                                        Map of South Carolina highlighting Barnwell County

County Seat: 

Boiling Spring  1785 – 1800

Barnwell          1800 – present


County Courthouse – Barnwell


Location:  141 Main Street / Wall Street

Built:  1878 – 1879

Style:  Greek Revival

Architect:  J Whilden Woodward and Associates

Contractor:  J H Woodward and W T Blanton


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story white colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Barnwell. The west section has a large porch supported by four square pillars on the first story and four columns on the second story with a pediment above. There is a black colored wrought iron staircase and balustrade. The east section which has stone trim around the entrance, corners and vertical bands and is joined at the north end, was built in 1902. The architect was Wilson & Edwards and the contractor was John Eve of Barnwell. In front is a vertical sundial. In 1921 another fire-proof addition was added for the records of the probate judge. The architect was James H Sams. In the 1930’s the red brick building was plastered over by the Work Progress Administration.


History:  The first courthouse was built in Boiling Springs in 1789 and the second courthouse was built in Barnwell in 1800. The third courthouse was built in 1819 and  the fourth courthouse was built in 1848. The fifth and present courthouse was built in 1878 to 1879.




County Courthouse – Barnwell













Photos taken 2008 and 2020