Clinton County

US States / O-U / Pennsylvania / Clinton County

Clinton County is named for DeWitt Clinton, who was a Governor of New York and an advocate for the construction of the Erie Canal.


Created:  June 21, 1839 

County Seat:

Lock Haven  1839 – present


County Courthouse – Lock Haven  


Location:  230 East Water Street / North Jay Street

Built:  1867 – 1869

Style:  Italianate and Romanesque Revival

Architect:  Samuel Sloan and Addison Hutton of Philadelphia

Contractor:  Colonel A C Noyes, J F Batcheler and Dr. Samuel Adams.


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story white colored brick structure. The northeast corner has a high clock tower over 200 feet with silver colored dome. There is a small tower on the northwest corner with silver colored dome at the top. The first story has arches along the north side and high arched windows divided by vertical square pillars on the second story. An addition was constructed on the south side in 1936. The architect was Russell J Howard of Dubois.



N – Potter County

E – Lycoming County and Union County

S – Centre County

W – Clearfield County and Cameron County

















photos taken 2011