Sherman County

US States / O-U / Oregon / Sherman County

Sherman County is named for William Tecumseh Sherman, who was a general during the American Civil War, educator and author.


Created:  February 25, 1889

County Seat: 

Moro1889 – present


County Courthouse – Moro


Location:  500 Court Street / 4th Street

Built:  1898 – 1899

Style:  Queen Anne

Architect:  Charles H Burggraf of Salem

Contractor:  A F Peterson of Corvallis


Description:  The building  faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick  structure. The building is located on spacious lasndscaped grounds and is  “L” shaped with a south wing The east front has a central arched entrance on the first story with arched window above on the second story. On the southeast side is a large square tower rising three stories. The building has tall vertical windows. There is a hipped roof.


See:  The architect,  Charles H Burggraf of Salem and the contractor , A F Peterson of Corvallis designed and constructed the courthouse in Wheeler County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Sherman County Courthouse



N – Klickitat County, Washington

E – Gilliam County

S – Wasco County

W – Wasco County














Photos taken 2012