Columbia County

US States / O-U / Oregon / Columbia County

Columbia County is named for the Columbia River, which is named after Christopher Columbus.


Created:  January 16, 1845

County Seat: 

Milton             1845 – 1857

Saint Helens  1857 – present


County Courthouse – Saint Helens


Location:  230 Strand Street / Plaza Square

Built:  1906 – 1907

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Hendricks & Tobey

Contractor:  Fred A. Erixon of Albany


Description:  The building  faces west and is a two story rock and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds along the west bank of the Columbia River and on the east side, the building overlooks the Columbia River. Constructed with basalt lava rock, the building forms an “H: shape with porticoes on the center of the west and east sides. Each portico has four white columns rising to a balcony on the second story. There is a wide cornice along the roof line. On the center of the building is a large square white bell tower with steep roof and clock. The bell tower was added in 1911.


Note:  The cost of construction was $29,675.


County Courthouse Annex – Saint Helens




Location: 230 Strand Street / Plaza Square

Built:  1968 – 1969

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ragnar C Qvale & Associates

Contractor:  Teeples & Thatcher.


Description:  The building  faces west and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The west side has no windows and the east side has windows with concrete vertical dividers. The roof line is flat.



N – Wahkiakum County, Washington and Cowlitz County, Washington

E – Cowlitz County, Washington and Clark County, Washington

S – Multnomah County and  Washington County 

W – Clatsop County






County Courthouse
















County Courthouse Annex










Photos taken 2012