Washita County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Washita County

Washita County is named for the Washita River which flows through the county and which name is a Native American word meaning “good hunting grounds” and “sparkling silver water”.


Created:  April 19, 1892

County Seat:

Cloud Chief  1892 – 1900

Cordell         1900 – present


County Courthouse – Cordell


Location:  111 East Main Street / College Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Beaux Arts

Architect:  Layton, Wemyss, Smith and Hawk

Contractor:  Donathan & Moore


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick structure. The building has porticos on the east and west sides with four white Ionic columns rising to pediments. A white colored horizontal band runs below the first story windows. On the center of the roof is a round open dome with white colored columns and dome at the top.


Note:  The impressive courthouse sits in the middle of the road. This unusual arrangement can be credited to A J Johnson and J C Harrel, who each donated half the land needed for a courthouse on either side of the section line later used to demark the highway.


See: The architect, Layton and Forsyth ( and associated firms ), designed courthouses in Beckham County, Carter County, Craig County, Creek County, Grady County, Greer County, Harmon County, Jefferson County, McIntosh County, Muskogee County, Okfuskee County, Oklahoma County and  Pittsburg County.


See: The contractor, Donathan & Moore, constructed courthouses in Choctaw County and Osage County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Washita County Courthouse



N – Custer County

E – Caddo County

S – Kiowa County

W – Beckham County





























Photos taken 2010