Wagoner County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Wagoner County

Wagoner County is named for Wagoner Switch a railroad siding on the Katy Railroad which was named for the chief dispatcher of the railroad.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Rogers County and Mayes County

E – Cherokee County 

S – Muskogee County

W – Tulsa County


Created:  July 16, 1907                          Map of Oklahoma highlighting Wagoner County

County Seat:

Wagoner  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Wagoner 


Location:  307 East Cherokee Street / North Lee Avenue

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Joe I Davis

Contractor:  Works Progress Administration


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story yellow colored brick, limestone and concrete structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Wagoner. The center section is one story with the main building rising behind to three stories. The building is a series of square box structures. The exterior walls are decorated with limestone caps and friezes. There are pilasters and decorative brick work on the corners. The roof has parapets and the windows rest in pre-formed concrete sills.  There are metal casement windows. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the 15th Judicial District. The contractor was Works Progress Administration using local trades and labor. Many additions have been added.


County Courthouse – Coweta


Location:  216 South Broadway / Pecan Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Moderne

Architect:  Works Progress Administration

Contractor:  Works Progress Administration


Description:  The building faces east and is a one story native stone and concretestructure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Coweta. The building is constructed with uncut and unrusticated native stone. The roof is gables with parapets at the east front. On the west side the roof line is flat. The building was a Works Progress Administration project. The building houses the Cowets Municipal Court.


Note:  Wagoner, as country seat was not locally centered so a western courthouse was constructed at Coweta.


See:  The 15th Judicial District includes Adair CountyCherokee CountyMuskogee County and Sequoyah County.


History:  The county was created in 1907 and Wagoner was selected as the county seat. The county used the Federal Court Building constructed in 1897 as the first courthouse. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1939 to 1940. A third courthouse was constructed in Coweta in 1939 to 1940.




County Courthouse – Wagoner





























Photos taken 2009 and 2010