Tulsa County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Tulsa County

Tulsa County is named for the town of Tulsa, which was named for Tulsey Town in the State of Alabama, which was an old Creek Native American settlement.


Created:  November 16, 1907

County Seat:

Tulsa  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Tulsa 


Location:  500 South Denver Avenue / West 5th Street

Built:  1953 – 1955

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Black and West

Contractor:  Manhattan Construction Company


Description: The building faces north and is a nine story concrete and steel structure. The building is located in the center of Tulsa. The north front has vertical red dividers between the windows. There is an overhanging canopy on the first story. The east and west sections are three stories, have a white stone north face and extend north from the main building. The roof line is flat.


See: The contractor, Manhattan Construction Company, constructed courthouses in Oklahoma in Bryan County, Craig CountyCreek County, Garvin County, Logan County, Muskogee County, Noble County, Oklahoma County and Pawnee County.


Note:  The first courthouse was designed by Winkley & McDonald and constructed by Van Horn & Son Construction on the northeast corner of Sixth Street and South Boulder Avenue in Tulsa in 1910 to 1911. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1953.



N –  Washington County

E – Rogers County and Wagoner County 

S – Okmulgee County

W – Creek County and Osage County





County Courthouse – Tulsa
















Photos taken 2010