Okfuskee County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Okfuskee County

Okfuskee County is named for Okfuskee, which was a Creek Native American town in the State of Alabama.


Created:  July 16, 1907

County Seat:

Okemah  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Okemah 


Location:  209 North 3rd Street / West Atlanta Street

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Layton, Hicks & Forsyth

Contractor:  Tankersley Construction Company


Description: The building faces south and is a five story gray colored stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Okemah. The building is approximately square and constructed of stone blocks. The first two stories have a wide cornice at the roof line. Above is a smaller two story section with a smaller fifth story at the top. The window bays of the first and second floors are separated by fluted pilasters with Doric capitals. A projecting cornice decorated with dentils and modillions tops the second floor, separating it from the upper stories of the building. The building is constructed in three distinct layered portions. These arched, clerestory windows highlight the east and west facades. Decorative garlands and carved roping add to the fanciful appearance of the building. The attic story is surmounted by a balustraded parapet and is crowned by a trio of ornamental stone urns at each corner of the building. The entrance ways, centered on the ground floor of each side of the building, are recessed and are framed by pilasters and a frieze decorated with carved wreaths. The roof line is flat.


See:   The architect, Layton and Forsyth ( and associated firms ), designed courthouses in Beckham County, Carter County, Craig County, Creek County, Grady County, Greer County, Harmon County, Jefferson County, McIntosh County, Muskogee County, Oklahoma Cointy, Pittsburg County and Washita County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Okfuskee County Courthouse



N – Creek County and Okmulgee County 

E – McIntosh County 

S – Hughes County and Seminole County

W – Seminole County, Pottawatomie County and Lincoln County





County Courthouse – Okemah
















Photos taken 2010