Latimer County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Latimer County

Latimer County is named for James S Latimer, who was a member of the Oklahoma Constitutional Convention.


Created:  July 16, 1907

County Seat:

Wilburton  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Wilburton 


Location:  109 North Central Avenue / Main Street

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Forest Butler of Oklahoma City

Contractor:  Works Project Administration


Description: The building faces east and is a two story course stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Wilburton. The center section rises higher than the north and south wings. The central entrance is framed with concrete trim. The roof line is flat. The building was constructed as a Works Project Administration project using local trades. The building was remodeled in 1968. The architect was Morgan-Tyson-Mills & Associates of Tulsa and the contractor was Bloomfield Construction Company.


See:  The architect,  Forest Butler of Oklahoma City, designed courthouses in Custer County, Pontotoc County and Pushmataha County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Latimer County Courthouse


Note:  In 1915, the courthouse occupied the Great Western Coal & Coke Building at 701 East Main Street which was remodeled.



N – Pittsburg County and Haskell County 

E – Le Flore County

S – Pushmataha County.

W – Pittsburg County





County Courthouse – Wilburton













Photos taken 2010