Haskell County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Haskell County

Haskell County is named for Charles N Haskell, who was the first Governor of the State of Oklahoma.


Created:  July 16, 1907

County Seat:

Stigler  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Stigler


Location:  202 East Main Street / SE 2nd Street

Built:  1931 – 1932

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Walter T Vahlberg of Oklahoma City

Contractor:  Tankersley Construction Company


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Stigler. The central entrance is framed with a large concrete rectangle with glass walls above the doorway. The upper part of the windows on the first and second stories have green colored The third story has green faced walls. The roof line is flat. The building was renovated in 1979 and the architect was Joe Davis and the contractor was Jess Mott.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Haskel County Courthouse



N – McIntosh CountyMuskogee County and Sequoyah County

E – Le Flore County

S – Latimer County

W – Pittsburg County





County Courthouse – Stigler
















Photos taken 2010