Garfield County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Garfield County

Garfield County is named for James Abram Garfield, who was President of the United States in 1881 when he was assassinated.


Created:  November 6, 1893

County Seat:

Enid  1893 – present


County Courthouse – Enid 


Location:  114 West Broadway Avenue / North Grand Avenue

Built:  1934 – 1935

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Hawk and Parr

Contractor:  Reinhart & Donovan Company


Description: The building faces south and is a three story white colored faced limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Enid. The central portion of the front facade has a “false front” extending approximately twelve feet above the rest of the building’s roof line. The front facade is slightly stepped, forming three distinct sections. There are east and west wings. On the roof center is a third story section. On the north side is a high detached clock tower built in 1988.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Garfield County Courthouse


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by A A Crowell and constructed by A O Campbell construction in  1907. The building was destroyed by fire in 1931.



N – Grant County

E – Noble County 

S – Logan County and Kingfisher County

W – Mayor County and Alfalfa County





County Courthouse – Enid



















Photos taken 2010