Cotton County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Cotton County

Cotton County is named for the abundance of cotton grown in the county.


Created:  August 27, 1912

County Seat:

Walters  1912 – present


County Courthouse – Walters 


Location:  301 North Broadway Street / East Oklahoma Avenue

Built:  1926 – 1927

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Tonini and Bramblet

Contractor:  Charles M Dunning Construction Company


Description: The building faces west and is a three story gray stone structure. The rectangular building has a wide band along the roof line with cornice below. The first story has horizontal stonework with central entrances. The roof line is flat.


See: The architect,  Tonini and Bramblet ( and associates ), designed courthouses in Kansas in Crawford County and Oklahoma in Alfalfa County, Major County, Okmulgee County, Payne County, Tillman County and Wooward County.


See: The contractor, Charles M Dunning Construction Company, constructed courthouses in Alfalfa County and Tillman County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Cotton County Courthouse



N – Comanche County

E – Stephens County and Jefferson County

S – Clay County, Texas and Wichita County, Texas

W – Tillman County


















Photos taken 2010