Comanche County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Comanche County

Comanche County is named for the Comanche American Indian tribe who resided in the region and derives from the Spanish “Camino Ancho” meaning “broad trail”.


Created:  July 16, 1907

County Seat:

Lawton  1901 – present


County Courthouse – Lawton 


Location:  315 SW 5th Street / SW C Avenue

Built:  1974 – 1975

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Jim Bignell and John Fischer of Bignell and Fischer

Contractor:  Chapman Construction Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a three story brown colored brick and concrete  structure. The lat roof over hangs the building. Two vertical pillars frame the north entrance which has a small canopy. There are vertical white colored lines with narrow windows between.


Note:  Previous courthouses were designed by H J Van Denberg and constructed by Frank Samuel Construction Company in 1902 and designed by Tonini & Bramblett and constructed by Walt R Henrich Construction Company in 1939.



N – Kiowa County and Caddo County

E – Grady County and Stephens County

S – Cotton County and Tillman County

W – Tillman County and Kiowa County























Photos taken 2010