Cleveland County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Cleveland County

Cleveland County is named for Grover Cleveland, who was the President of the United States.

Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Oklahoma County

E – Pottawatomie County

S – McClain County

W – McClain County and Canadian County


Created:  May 2, 1890                            Map of Oklahoma highlighting Cleveland County

County Seat:

Norman  1890 – present


County Courthouse – Norman 


Location:  200 South Peters Avenue / Comanche Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Walter T Vahlberg of Oklahoma City

Contractor:  Tankersley Construction


Description: The building faces northeast and is a three story limestone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Norman. The northeast front has stone framing the central entrance which has steel doors. Vertical pilasters divide the widows. The roof line is flat. In 1979 to 1980, a large addition was constructed on the west side. The architect was Kaighen Associates and the contractor was Barbour & Short.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Solomon A Layton and constructed by L F Lee Construction Company in 1906.




County Courthouse – Norman



















Photos taken 2009