Bryan County

US States / O-U / Oklahoma / Bryan County

Bryan County is named for William Jennings Bryan, who was a Populist politician.


Created:  July 16, 1907

County Seat:

Durant  1907 – present


County Courthouse – Durant 


Location:  402 West Evergreen Street / North 4th Avenue

Built:  1917 – 1918

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Jewell Hicks

Contractor:  Manhattan Construction Company


Description: The building faces east and is a three story graycolored limestone structure. The approximately square building is constructed of cut stone blocks. The east front has a projecting center section with four Corinthian columns rising from the second story to the top of the third story with a wide header above with crest at the roof line. An ornate wreath and shield design provides a decorative accent above the new metal and glass front door. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line. The first story has horizontal stone work.


See:  The architect, Jewell Hicks, also designed the courthouses  in Garvin County, Marshall County and Murray County.


See:  The contractor, Manhattan Construction Company, constructed courthouses in Oklahoma in Craig CountyCreek County, Garvin County, Logan County, Muskogee County, Noble County, Oklahoma County, Pawnee County and Tulsa County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Bryan County Courthouse



N – Johnston County and Atoka County

E – Choctaw County

S – Lamar County, Texas, Fannin County, Texas and Grayson County, Texas

W – Marshall County

















Photos taken 2009