Noble County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Noble County

Noble County is named for James Noble, who was an early settler in the area.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Guernsey County 

E – Belmont County and Monroe County

S – Washington County

W – Morgan County and Muskingum County


Created:  April 1, 1851                            Map of Ohio highlighting Noble County

County Seat:

Sarahsville  1851 – 1854

Caldwell      1854 – present


County Courthouse – Caldwell


Location:  350 Courthouse Street / Main Street

Built:  1933 – 1934

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Charles J Marr of New Philadwlphia, Ohio

Contractor:  Civil Works Administration


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story red colored brick and concrete structure. The west front has a stone faced center section with three arches on the first story and stone framed windows above. The roof line is flat. In the interior, the center has an open rotunda with stains. There are decorative murals. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas. The building was a Civil Works Administration project. 


Note: The Ava Brick plant manufactured the brick for the courthouse. Adam Wendling was in charge of construction. A number of firms furnished material for the construction including Noble Construction Company of Caldwell and others. The Civil Works Administration hired local labor for the construction.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Youngstown ( 7th Appellate District  )


History:  The county was created in 1851 and Sarahsville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a two story was built by Joseph Potts, Thomas Dyson and Harrison Secrest in 1851 to 1853 at a cost of $2,230 as the original contractor, John B Heaton defaulted von the contract. The county seat was moved to Caldwell in 1854. The second courthouse was designed by Thomas Drake and built by William J Young and Dennis S Gibbs in 857 at a cost of $13,000. The courthouse was raised in 1933. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1933 to 1934 at a cost of $140,830.




County Courthouse – Caldwell



















Photos taken 2011 and 2012