Morrow County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Morrow County

Morrow County is named for Jeremiah Morrow, who was Governor of Ohio from 1822 to 1826.


Created:  March 1, 1848

County Seat:

Mount Gilead  1848 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Gilead  


Location:  48 East High Street / Walnut Street

Built:  1852 – 1854

Style:  Romanesque

Architect:  David Auld

Contractor:  Auld & Miller


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds. The building has a stone foundation and the roof is slate. The south front has a high square red colored brick tower with arched entrance on the first story, two windows on the second story, portal on the third story, four small openings and bell on the fourth story with clock and flat dome above. In 1896, the building was expanded. The architect was Williams & Andrews. Additions were built in 1930 and 1939. On the east side is the two story red brick and stone jail constructed in 1849 to 1850.


Note:  The first court met in the Baptist Church.



N – Marion County, Crawford County and Richland County

E – Richland County and Knox County

S – Knox County and Delaware County

W – Delaware County and Marion County























Photos taken 2015