Morgan County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Morgan County

Morgan County is named for Daniel Morgan, who was an officer during the American Revolutionary War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Muskingum County

E – Noble County and Washington County

S – Washington County and Athens County

W – Athens County and Perry County


Created:  December 29, 1817                Map of Ohio highlighting Morgan County

County Seat:

McConnelsville  1817 – present


County Courthouse – McConnelsville


Location:  37 East Main Street / North Kennebec Avenue

Built:  1857 – 1858

Style:  Greek Revival and Second Empire

Architect:  William P Johnson

Contractor:  James J Palmer of Malta


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story gray colored brick and wood structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of McConnelsville. The south front has a large porch with four tall columns rising to the roof line. There is a small pediment at the roof line. Behind is a large square wood cupola with clock and mansard roof. The roof is sloped with a series of chimneys. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas. In 1866 a bell was added. In 1886, the cupola was constructed. In 1960, the building was remodeled and an addition added. The architect was Ralph E Crook and the contractor was Paul Contracting Company.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Canton ( 5th Appellate District  )


History:  The county was created in 1817 and McConnelsville was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1820. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1857 to 1858 at a cost of $10,000.




County Courthouse - McConnelsville 



















Photos taken 2012