Monroe County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Monroe County

Monroe County is named for James Monroe, who was the fifth President of the United States from 1817 to 1825.


Created:  January 29, 1813

County Seat:

Woodsfield  1813 – present


County Courthouse – Woodfield


Location:  101 North Main Street / West Court Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Samuel Hannaford and Sons

Contractor:  Robert H Evans & Company of Zanesville


Description:  The building faces east and is a three story red colored brick and Bedford stone structure. The east front has a projecting center section with stone framed central entrance on the first story. There is horizontal stone facing on the first story. Two columns rise from the second story to the top of the third story with a wide pediment above at the roof line. .


Note: The courthouse constructed in 1868 was destroyed by fire in 1905. The courthouse has one of ten largest clocks in the world, which can be seen from miles away. Its four faces were installed in 1908 by Howard Clock Company of New York. The cost of the clock was $2,775.


Note:  The architect, Samuel Hannaford and Sons, also designed courthouses in Greene County and Washington County.



N – Noble County and Belmont County 

E – Wetzel County, West Virginia and Tyler County, West Virginia

S – Washington County

W – Noble County 


























Photos taken 2012