Lucas County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Lucas County

Lucas County is named for Robert Lucas, who was the Governor of Ohio when the county was created in 1835.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Lenawee County, Michigan and Monroe County, Michigan

E – Lake Erie and Ontario

S – Ottawa County and Wood County

W – Fulton County 


Created:  June 20, 1835                         Map of Ohio highlighting Lucas County

County Seat:

Toledo      1835 – 1840

Maumee   1840 – 1854

Toledo      1854 – present


County Courthouse – Toledo 


Location:  700 Adams Street / Michigan Street

Built:  1894 – 1897

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  David L Stine

Contractor:  Dun Perley & Company


Description:  The building faces southwest. and is a four story buff colored sandstone structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds. The southwest and northeast sides have projecting center sections with three high arches on the first and second stories. Four columns rise from the third story to the top of the fourth story with recessed double windows between. At the top is a pediment. The building has Roman arches, Corinthian columns and frog carvings on the interior and exterior. The east and west wings extend from the main building. Along the roof line is a balustrade. On the center of the roof is a large round dome with green colored roof.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in Maumee in 1840.


See:  For the Sixth Appellate District Court of Appeals see Ohio Court of Appeals – Toledo




County Courthouse – Toledo




























Photos taken 2015