Holmes County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Holmes County

Holmes County is named for Andrew H Holmes, who was killed at the battle on Mackinac Island during the War of 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Ashland County and Wayne County

E – Stark County and Tuscarawas County

S – Coshocton County

W – Knox County and Ashland County


Created:  January 4, 1824                      Map of Ohio highlighting Holmes County

County Seat:

Millersburg  1824 – present


County Courthouse – Millersburg 


Location:  1 East Jackson Street / South Monroe Street

Built:  1884 – 1886

Style:  Italianate

Architect:  Joseph Warren Yost of Cleveland

Contractor:  Hibbert & Schaus


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story buff colored limestone structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Millersburg. The north front has a small portico with four thin columns rising to a balcony on the second story with a statue of Lady Justice. Above is a large arched window on the second story and a pediment at the roof line. Each corner has a mansard roof. On the center of the roof is a square clock tower with green colored dome. The roof is sloped. In the interior, the County Court of Common Pleas courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas – General and Domestic Relation Divisions, County Court of Common Pleas – Juvenile and Probate Divisions and County Municipal Court. The architect was Joseph Warren Yost of Cleveland and the contractor was Hibbert & Schaus. The building was restored in 2021. The contractor was Misdstate Contractors of Marion. On the southwest corner of courthouse square is the old red colored brick Italianate style County Jail constructed in 1880 and to the west is the County Office Building.


Note:  The architect, Joseph Warren Yost of Cleveland, designed courthouses in Belmont County, Guernsey County, Harrison County, Miami County, Perry County, Wood County and Wyandot County.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Canton ( 5th Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1825 and Millersburg was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1825 and was destroyed by fire. The second courthouse was built in 1834 and was torn down in 1884. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1884 to 1886.




County Courthouse – Millersburg






















County Court of Common Pleas courtroom










Old County Jail – Millersburg







County Office Building – Millersburg




Photos taken 2011