Hamilton County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Hamilton County

Hamilton County is named for Alexander Hamilton, who was the first Secretary of the Treasury.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Butler County and Warren County

E – Clermont County

S – Campbell County, Kentucky, Kenton County, Kentucky and Boone County, Kentucky

W – Dearborn County, Indiana


Created:  January 2, 1790                      Map of Ohio highlighting Hamilton County

County Seat:

Cincinnati  1790 – present


County Courthouse – Cincinnati


Location:  1000 Main Street / Court Street

Built:  1915 – 1919

Style:  Renaissance Revival

Architect:  Charles Howard Crane of Rankin, Kellogg & Crane

Contractor:  Charles McCaul Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a nine story stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Cincinnati. The building is constructed with New Hampshire granite and Bedford limestone. The building is located in the center of the city and is elevated on a one story base set at grade level. Above the base are three levels grouped together by a colossal row of sixteen Corinthian columns. On the west front are three wide arched doorways which feature wrought bronzed screens. Flanking the doorways are arched windows of the same character. There is a center courtyard and the roof line is flat.


County Justice Center – Cincinnati




Location:  1000 Sycamore Street / Court Street

Built:  1983 – 1985

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Glasser and Myers, Inc., Chamlin/Haupt and Gruzen & Partners

Contractor:  Messer Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a ten story concrete and glass angular structure. The building is located in the center of Cincinnati on the east side of the courthouse. The entrance on the northwest side has glass panels. Above the first story, the windows are horizontal and narrow. The roof line is flat. The building faces onto a plaza with the Law Enforcement Center on the north side.


History:  The county was created in 1790. and Cincinnati became the county seat. The first courthouse was built in 1790. The second courthouse was a limestone structure built in 1802 at Fifth Street and Main Street at a cost of $3,000. The third courthouse was built in 1819 at a cost of $15,000 and burned in 1849. The temporary courthouse was a former four story pork packing house at Court Street and St. Clair Street. The fourth courthouse was designed by Isiah Rogers in 1852 at a cost of $695,000. The fifth courthouse was designed by James W McLaughlin and constructed in 1885 to 1997. The sixth and present courthouse was constructed at a cost of $3,022,000.


Ohio Court of Appeals – Cincinnati


See:  For the First Appellate District Court of Appeals see Ohio Court of Appeals – Cincinnati


Note:  The lowest point in Ohio is the Ohio River at 455 feet ( 138 meters ) which is located in the county. 




County Courthouse – Cincinnati






















County Justice Center - Cincinnati




Photos taken 2012