Clinton County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Clinton County

Clinton County is named for George Clinton, who was a vice president of the United States of America.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Greene County and Fayette County

E – Fayette County and Highland County

S – Highland County and Brown County

W – Warren County


Created:  March 1, 1810                         Map of Ohio highlighting Clinton County

County Seat:

Wilmington  1810 – present


County Courthouse – Wilmington


Location:  53 East Main Street / South South Street

Built:  1916 – 1919

Style:  Second Renaissance Revival

Architect:  Werner & Adkins and C C Weber and E A Weber of Cincinnati

Contractor:  Western Building Company


Description:  The building faces west and is a three story smooth stone and concrete structure. The building is located on the landscaped grounds of the Courthouse Square in the center of Wilmington. The west front has a projecting center section with three arches on the first story having recessed entrances. Four colossal Corinthian columns rise from the second story to the top of the third story with wide header above. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line. There is a balustrade along the roof line. On the center of the roof is a large dome containing a skylight illuminating the stained-glass window inside. There is a rusticated foundation. In the interior is a cruciform plan with dome 32 feet in diameter rising above a large central atrium with marble staircase ascending from the basement to the second story. The walls are finished with an Italian plaster resembling marble. On the high ceiling are murals of four women beneath the dome represent Agriculture, Education, Medicine, and Industry, and are known as the Guardians of the Courthouse. The main County Court of Common Pleas courtroom is located on the south side of the second story. The courtroom has columns, cornices and an illuminated ceiling fixture. The building houses the County Court of Common Pleas, County Court of Common Pleas – Juvenile Division and County Court of Common Pleas – Probate Division. 


Note:  The basement once housed a shooting gallery and a large tunnel under the building carries the water of a creek.


See:  Ohio Court of Appeals – Middletown ( 12th Appellate District )


History:  The county was created in 1810 and Wilmington was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a red colored brick structure built by Jacob Hale (masonry) and Mr. Sayres (wood-work) in 1810 to 1813. The second courthouse was a Greek Revival style structure designed by John B Posey and constructed by John Bush (masonry) and Thomas Shockley, Alfred Shockley and William & Joshua (plastering) in 1837 to 1838. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1916 to 1919 at a cost of construction of the present courthouse was $370,000 including the former jail.




County Courthouse - Wilmington








































County Court of Common Pleas courtroom

























Photos taken 2012 and 2018