Adams County

US States / O-U / Ohio / Adams County

Adams County is named for John Adams, who was the second President of the United States.


Created:  April 1, 1820

County Seat:

West Union  1807 – present


County Courthouse – West Union


Location:  110 West Main Street / North Market Street

Built:  1910 – 1911

Style:  Greek Revival and Federal

Architect:  T S Murray & Company

Contractor:  James Skene & Sons Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. The south front has a portico with four square brick pillars rising to a pediment. On the roof is a square clock tower with green colored dome. An addition was added on the north side in 1973 to 1974. The architect was Hayes, Donaldson, Wittenmyer & Partners and the contractor was Don King Construction Company.


Note:  The first courthouse was built by Thomas Metcalf in 1815. The second courthouse was built by Joseph Shinn in 1876 and was destroyed by fire in 1910. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $50,000.



N – Highland County and Pike County

E – Scioto County

S – Lewis County, Kentucky and Mason County, Kentucky

W – Brown County





County Courthouse



1547t11          1549t11










Photos taken 2011