Wells County

US States / N / North Dakota / Wells County

Wells County is named for Edward Payson Wells of Jamestown, North Dakota ( 1847-1936 ), who was a banker and early promoter of the James River Valley as well as a member of the legislature.


Created:  January 4, 1873

County Seat:  

Sykeston   1873 – 1894

Fessenden  1894 – present


County Courthouse – Fessendon


Location:  700 Railway Street North / 7th Avenue North

Built:  1895 – 1896

Style:  Queen Anne

Architect:  John W Ross of Grand Forks

Contractor:  H B Chess and D McDonald


Description:The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building has a course stone base. On the west side, the entrance towards the south has two arches on the west and one arch on the south with a recessed doorway. In the center is a turret with glass on the second story. The north side of the front, has a peaked roof. The roof is hipped.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $19,000.  The brick was manufactured by the H T Von Wagoner Company in Minot and the limber was obtained from W E Cooke of Harvey.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Wells County Courthouse



N – Pierce County and Benson County

E – Eddy County and Foster County

S – Stutsman County and Kidder County

W – Sheridan County




















Photos taken 2007 and 2009