Oliver County

US States / N / North Dakota / Oliver County

Oliver County is named for Harry S Oliver ( 1855-1909 ) of Lisbon, North Dakota, who was a Republican politician and member of the House of Representatives.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mercer County and McLean County

E – McLean County and Burleigh County

S – Morton County

W – Mercer County


Created:  April 14, 1885                         Map of North Dakota highlighting Oliver County

County Seat: 

Sanger ( Raymond )  1885  – 1902

Center                        1902 – present


County Courthouse – Center


Location:  315 Main Street / Lakota Avenue

Built:  1978 – 1979

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Ario C Beattie

Contractor:  Harley Miller Construction


Description:  The building faces north and is a one story buff colored brick and concrete structure.  The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Center. On the north front of the rectangular shaped building is a concrete portico supported by concrete pillars. The courtroom is located in the south center of the building. The roof line is flat. The building houses the County District Court of the South Central Judicial District. On the courthouse grounds is an old log cabin. 


See:  The South Central Judicial District includes Burleigh CountyEmmonds County, Grant County, McLean County, Mercer County, Morton CountySheridan County and Sioux County.


History:  The county was created in 1885 and Sanger ( Raymond )was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was built at a cost of $440. The county seat was moved to Center in 1902. The second courthouse was a two story wood frame structure designed and built by H C Rhud in 1903. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1978 to 1979.




County Courthouse – Center




























Old Log Cabin – Center

Photos taken 2006 and 2013