McLean County

US States / N / North Dakota / McLean County

McLean County is named for John A McLean of Bismarck ( 1849–1916 ), a pominent merchant and the first mayor of Bismarck. 


Created:  March 8, 1883

County Seat:  

Washburn  1883 – present


Former County Courthouse – Washburn


Location:  712 5th Avenue / 7th Street

Built:  1907 – 1908

Style:   Romanesque / Federal

Architect:  Hancock Brothers

Contractor:  T F Powers


Description:  The building faced south and was a two story buff colored brick structure. The building was located on landscaped grounds on the north side of the center of Washburn. The south front had a high central square brick tower rising from the entrance to the gabled roof. The building was constructed in two stages. The second part of the building was constructed in 1917. The architect was Hancock Brothers and the contractor was Andrew Person. In 1963, a modern addition was built on the west side. The jail was constructed by Pauley Jail Construction Company.


 Note:  Voters had approved a new courthouse in November 2010 and demolition of the old courthouse and its 1963 addition. The building was razed in November 2013.


County Courthouse – Washburn




Location:  712 5th Avenue / 7th Street

Built:  2011 – 2013

Style:   Modern

Architect:  Al Fitterer of Mandan

Contractor:  Capital City Construction Inc. of Bismarck


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story buff colored brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds on the north side of the center of Washburn and backs into a slight slope. The south front has a large central glass section. On the west side is a four story section. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The previous courthouse was razed in 2013 providing a landscaped area along the south side of the new courthouse. The cost of construction of the present courthouse was $4,500,000.


Old County Courthouse – Washburn




Location:  612 Main Street / 7th Street

Built:  1905 – 1906

Style:   Georgian Revival

Architect:  Unknown

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story wood frame  structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Washburn and has clapboard siding. The windows are one-over-one double hung with wooden frames. The roof is pitched.  The building was used as a courthouse from 1905 to 1915.


 See:  National Register of Historic Places – Former McLean County Courthouse



N – Mountrail CountyWard County and McHenry County

E – Sheridan County and Burleigh County

S – Burleigh County, Oliver County and Mercer County

W – Mercer CountyDunn County and Mountrail County





Former County Courthouse – Washburn










Former County Courthouse and new Courthouse – Washburn

























County Courthouses in 2013




County Courthouse in 2015 with former Courthouse demolished




Old County Courthouse – Washburn













Photos taken 2006, 2013 and 2015