McKenzie County

US States / N / North Dakota / McKenzie County

McKenzie County is named for Alexander McKenzie of  Bismarck,  North Dakota ( 1851-1922 ), credited with helping to engineer the removal of the capital of the Dakota Territory from Yankton, South Dakota to Bismarck, and a political leader.


Created:  May 24, 1901

County Seat: 

Alexander      1905 – 1907

Schafer         1907 – 1941

Watford City  1941 – present


County Courthouse – Watford City


Location:  201 5th Street Northwest / 2nd Avenue Southeast

Built:  1973 – 1974

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Kielhack & Fougner of Minot

Contractor:  F & J Construction of Dickenson


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red-brown colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of the city. Along the east front are white colored vertical dividers. The east front has a small portico of red colored brick. The roof line is flat.


Note:  A courthouse was built in Schafer in 1906. In 1941, an old hospital was converted to serve as the courthouse in Watford City.



N – Williams County

E – Mountrail County and Dunn County

S – Dunn County Billings County and Golden Valley County

W – Wibaux County, Montana and Richland County, Montana





County Courthouse




Photos taken 2007