Logan County

US States / N / North Dakota / Logan County

Logan County is named for John A Logan, who was a Civil War general and United States Senator from Illinois, and who lived from 1826 to 1886.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Kidder County and Stutsman County

E – LaMoure County

S – McIntosh County

W – Emmons County


Created:  January 4, 1873                      Map of North Dakota highlighting Logan County

County Seat:  

Napoleon  1884 – 1899

King          1899

Napoleon  1899 – present


County Courthouse – Napoleon


Location:  301 Broadway / Avenue B East

Built:  1924 – 1925

Style:  Federalist Revival

Architect:  E A Moline

Contractor:  Van Horn & Ritterbush


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located in the center of Napoleon. The building has the entrance on the south side of the west front. There are stone trim and keystones at the windows, corner quoins and a horizontal limestone band between the first and second stories. The building has a hipped roof. The County District Court courtroom is located on the north side of the second story. The building houses the County District Court of the Southeast Judicial District. The building was originally a store and was converted in 1924. In 1929 an “L” shaped addition was added. The building was originally a “U” shape and in 1937, an addition filled in the court yard space. A further change was made in 1978.


See:  The other Federalist Revival style courthouse in North Dakota is located in Golden Valley County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Logan County Courthouse


See:  The Southeast Judicial District includes Barnes CountyDickey County, Eddy County, Foster County, Griggs CountyKidder County, LaMoure CountyMcIntosh County, Ransom CountyRichland County, Sargent CountyStutsman County and Wells County.


History:  The county was created in 1873 and Napoleon became the county seat in 1884 when the county was organized. The county seat was moved to King and then back to Napoleon in 1899. The first courthouse was a two story frame structure built by Herman Hardt in 1901. The building was enlarged in 1921. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1924 to 1925.




County Courthouse – Napoleon


































County District Court courtroom







Photos taken 2006, 2010 and 2016