Burke County

US States / N / North Dakota / Burke County

Burke County is names for Governor John Burke, who created the county by proclamation.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Saskatchewan, Canada

E – Renville County and Ward County

S – Ward County and Mountrail County

W – Williams County and Divide County


Created:  February 8, 1910                    Map of North Dakota highlighting Burke County

County Seat:

Bowbells  1910 – present


County Courthouse – Bowbells


Location:  103 Main Street Southeast / 1st Street Northeast

Built:  1927 – 1928

Style:  Federal

Architect:  Toltz, King & Day of St. Paul, Minnesota

Contractor:  Olson & Orheim of Minot.


Description:  The building faces north and  is a two story dark red colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on spacious landscaped grounds in the center of Bowbells. The north front of the building has a protruding entrance extending up to the second story. There is stonework around the entrance doorway and stonework under each window. The roof line is flat. Interior plaster is finished to resemble large blocks. The second-floor offices congregate around a central lobby, so that business is conducted over a counter rather than in rooms. The original porcelain water fountains, now non-functional, have been left in the hall.


See:  The architect, Toltz, King & Day of St. Paul, Minnesota designed many courthouses.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Burke County Courthouse


History:  Bowbells was named as the county seat in 1910. The first and only courthouse was constructed in 1927 to 1928.




County Courthouse – Bowbells






















Photos taken 2006, 2011 and 2016