Wilson County

US States / N / North Carolina / Wilson County

Wilson County is named for Louis D Wilson, who was a state legislator from Edgecombe County and who died of fever at Veracruz during the Mexican-American War.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Nash County

E – Edgecombe County and Pitt County

S – Greene County and Wayne County

W – Johnston County


Created:  February 13, 1855                  Map of North Carolina highlighting Wilson County

County Seat: 

Wilson  1855 – present


County Courthouse – Wilson


Location:  115 Nash Street East / Goldsboro Street East

Built:  1924 – 1925

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Fred A Bishop

Contractor:  William Preston Rose


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story gray colored stone structure. The building is located in the center of Wilson. The southwest front has a large porch with six columns rising to a wide header. The central entrance is recessed and has a small pediment over the doorway. At the roof line is a large clock. The roof line is flat. The building was renovated in 1968 to 1969.


Note:  The previous courthouse was constructed in 1855. An addition was added in 1873. The architect was Edmund George Lind. The building was remodeled in 1902 and the architect was Charles Barrett. The building was demolished.




County Courthouse – Wilson
















Photos taken 2012