Union County

US States / N / North Carolina / Union County

Union County is named as a comprise after a dispute between local Whigs and Democrats as to whether the county should be named for Henry Clay or Andrew Jackson.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Mecklenburg CountyCabarrus County and Stanly County

E – Anson County

S – Chesterfield County, South Carolina and Lancaster County, South Carolina

W – Lancaster County, South Carolina


Created:  December 12, 1842                Map of North Carolina highlighting Union County

County Seat: 

Tabbott’s Crossroads  1842 – 1844

Monroe                        1844 – present


County Courthouse – Monroe  


Location:  300 North Main Street / West Franklin Street

Built:  1886 – 1887

Style:  Late Victorian

Architect:  Thomas J Holt

Contractor:  J T Hart


Description:  The building faces east and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Monroe. The building has a small portico at the front supported by four thin columns. Above the portico are three arched windows with pediment at the roof line, and with inset arched window on either side on the second story. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line on the main section of the building. On the center of the roof is a large square clock tower, erected in 1903. The courtroom is located in the center of the second story. An addition was constructed in 1922. The architect was Charles C Hook and the contractor was J M Tucker. The building was renovated in 1986. The architect was Marshall Pyne McDowell and the contractor was Harry A Godfrey.


County Judicial Center – Monroe  




Location:  400 North Main Street / West Jefferson Street

Built:  2003 – 2004

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Freeman White and Ware Bonsall Architects

Contractor:  F N Thompson


Description:  The building faces west and is a four story, brick, glass and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds to the north of the courthouse in the center of Monroe. The south section is a pink color with recessed entrance and three banks of vertical windows on the west side. The north section is dark red with a five story tower with small windows.


History:  The first courts met at Tabbott’s Crossroad until 1844. The first courthouse was a wood structure built in Monroe in 1845. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1886 to 1887. The Judicial Center was constructed in 2003 to 2004.


County Administration – Monroe  




Location:  500 North Main Street / West Jefferson Street

Built:  1971 – 1972

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Hennings Durham & Richardson Inc.

Contractor:  Kirkpatrick & Associates Inc.


Description:  The building faces south and is a nine story glass, brick and concrete structure. The building faces onto a plaza and is located to the north of the courthouse in the center of Monroe. . On the east side is the nine story tower and main building is three stories. White horizontal concrete bands run between the stories on the main section and white colored vertical bands divide the exterior walls. The building was renovated in 2005. The architect was Ramsay Burgin Smith Architects. The building served as the courthouse from 1972 to 2005.




County Courthouse – Monroe






















County Judicial Center – Monroe







County Administration – Monroe










Photos taken 2008