Sampson County

US States / N / North Carolina / Sampson County

Sampson County is named for John Sampson, who was the first register of deeds of Duplin County and the first mayor of Wilmington, North Carolina.


Created:  1784

County Seat: 

James Myhand House  1784

Clinton                          1784 – present


County Courthouse – Clinton


Location:  101 East Main Street / Lisbon Street

Built:  1902 – 1904

Style:  Federal

Architect:  B F Smith Fireproof Construction Company

Contractor:  B F Smith Fireproof Construction Company


Description:  The building faces southeast and is a two story red colored brick structure. The building has a large porch supported by five large white colored pillars rising to the roof line. The entrance is recessed. There is also a similar porch on the northwest side. There are south and north wings with dormers on the roof. On the center of the roof is a square white colored cupola with clock and green roof. The building was remodeled in 1937 to 1938 and the architect was R R Markley. The remodeling was a Public Works Administration project.


Note:  The cost of construction of the courthouse was $30,000. Years later, in 1938, the building was completely remodeled at a cost of $100,000.



N – Harnett County and Johnston County

E – Duplin County 

S – Pender County

W – Bladen County and Cumberland County


























Photos taken 2008