Randolph County

US States / N / North Carolina / Randolph County
Randolph -O

Randolph County is named for Peyton Randolph, who was the first President of the Continental Congress.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Guilford County

E – Alamance County and Chatham County

S – Moore County and Montgomery County

W – Davidson County


Created:  April 14, 1778                         Map of North Carolina highlighting Randolph County

County Seat: 

Brown’s Crossroads  1779 – 1786

Johnnstonville            1786 – 1793

Asheboro                   1793 – present


Old County Courthouse – Asheboro  


Location:  145 Worth Street / South Fayetteville Street

Built:  1908 – 1908

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Wheeler, Runge and Dickey

Contractor:  Joseph T Owen


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story buff colored brick, stone  and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Asheboro. The south front has a large portico with four columns rising to a pediment. The third story is recessed with a section above having a rounded roof. The base of the building is rough stone. In the interior, there is a rectangular vestibule at the entrance with stairs at either end. The first story has wide cross halls. The courtroom is located on the second story.  The building was expanded in 1950, 1975 and 1979.


See:  The courthouse is very similar in appearance to the old courthouses in Ashe County, Avery County, Iredell CountyStokes County and Wilkes County.


See:  The architect,  Wheeler & Runge of Charlotte, designed courthouses in Ashe CountyAvery County, Caldwell CountyStokes County and Wilkes County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Randolph County Courthouse


County Courthouse – Asheboro  




Location:  176 East Salisbury Street / South Cox Street

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Moser Mayer Phoenix Associates of Greensboro

Contractor:  J H Allen, Inc.


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Asheboro on the north side of the old courthouse. The north front has a projecting semi-circular first story with a four story section rising behind with glass walls in the center section. The main building has vertical windows on the third and fourth stories. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 19th Judicial District.


See:  The 19th Judicial District includes Cabarrus County, Hoke County, Moore County and Rowan County.


History:  The county was created in 1778 and Brown’s Crossroads was selected as the county seat. The first court met at the home of Abram Reece in 1779. The first courthouse was a small log structure erected in 1779 near Brown’s Crossroads. The second courthouse was a two story wood structure erected in 1786 at Johnsonville. The county seat was moved to Asheville in 1793. The third courthouse was a small wood structure erected in 1793. The fourth courthouse was a two story frame structure built in 1805. The fifth courthouse was a brick structure built in 1830. The sixth courthouse was a brick structure built in 1839. A wing on the east side was added in 1876. The courthouse was demolished and the seventh courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1909. The eighth and present courthouse was constructed in 2000 to 2002.




Old County Courthouse – Asheboro



















County Courthouse – Asheboro













Photos taken 2012