New Hanover County

US States / N / North Carolina / New Hanover County
New Hanover

New Hanover County is named for the royal family of England who were members of the House of Hanover.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Pender County

E – Atlantic Ocean

S – Atlantic Ocean

W – Brunswick County 


Created:  1729                                        Map of North Carolina highlighting New Hanover County

County Seat: 

Wilmington  1729 – present


County Courthouse – Wilmington  


Location:  24 North 3rd Street / Princess Street

Built:  1892 – 1893

Style:  Queen Anne

Architect:  A S Eichberg of Savannah, Georgia

Contractor:  Valentine, Brown & Company of Brunswick, Georgia


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The building is located in the center of Wilmington and has a high central brick tower with stone arch entrance and recessed doorway. At the top of the tower is an open area with balconies and above is a clock and steep green colored roof. On the southwest and northwest corners are square towers. White colored granite horizontal trim runs along the building. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building was renovated in 1988. The architect was Yelvert / Architect PA and the contractor was Security Builders, Inc.


Old County Courthouse Annex – Wilmington  




Location:  316 Princess Street / North 4th Street

Built:  1925 – 1926

Style:  Georgian

Architect:  Leslie Boney Sr.

Contractor:  Unknown


Description:  The building faces north and is a four story white colored granite  structure. The building is located on the east side of the courthouse.


County Courthouse Annex – Wilmington  




Location:  20 North 3rd Street / Market Street

Built:  2000 – 2002

Style:  Modern

Architect:  B M S Architects ( Bruce F Bowman )

Contractor:  Clancy & Theys Construction Company and McFadyen / O’Brien Consulting Engineers


Description:  The building faces south and is a four story stone, brick and concrete structure. The building on each side has three high arches rising to the top of the third story. White colored stone towers are on each corner with small vertical windows on the fourth story. The building is located on the south side of the courthouse and is named as the William Allen Cobb Judicial Annex.


History:  The first courthouse was a brick structure erected in 1730. The second courthouse was erected later and was damaged by fire in 1798 and 1819 and burned in 1840. The third courthouse was built in 1840. The fourth courthouse was built in 1867. The fifth and present courthouse was constructed in 1892 and a large addition was constructed in 1925 to 1926. The present Courthouse Annex was constructed in 2000 to 2002.




County Courthouse – Wilmington

























Old County Courthouse Annex – Wilmington










County Courthouse Annex – Wilmington




Photos taken 2008