Forsyth County

US States / N / North Carolina / Forsyth County

Forsyth County is named for Benjamin Forsyth, who was an American officer during the War of 1812.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Stokes County

E – Guilford County 

S – Davidson County

W – Davie County and Yadkin County


Created:  January 16, 1849                    Map of North Carolina highlighting Forsyth County

County Seat: 

Winston-Salem  1849 – present


County Courthouse – Winston-Salem  


Location:  200 North Main Street / 2nd Street

Built:  1975 – 1976

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Fred W Butner Jr. Associates

Contractor:  H L Coble Construction Company


Description:  The building faces east and is a seven story brick, concrete and glass structure. The building is located in the center of Winston-Salem. The east front has the main entrance on the second story. The windows are vertical and narrow. Part of the building is recessed with vertical pillars. At the flat roof lines, there is a wide overhanging section. The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 21st Judicial District. The building is named as the Forsyth County Hall of Justice.


Old County Courthouse – Winston-Salem  


Location:  300 North Main Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1895 – 1897

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Franklin Pierce Mills

Contractor:  L P Hazen & Company


Description:  The building faces south and is a three story brick structure. The building is located in the center of the city and north of the courthouse. The courthouse was remodeled by Northup & O’Brien in 1926 to 1927. The building is being remodeled for apartments. 


New County Courthouse – Winston-Salem  


Location:  Chestnut Street / 2nd Street / Paterson Avenue

Built:  2021 – 2024

Style:  Modern

Architect:  CJMW Architect 

Contractor:  Samet Corporation and Balfour Beatty.


Description:  The building is five stories and is under construction,


History:  The county was created in 1849 and Winston-Salem was selected as the county seat. The first court met in the Salem Concert Hall. The first courthouse was designed by Francis Fries and built in Winston in 1849. The second courthouse was a two story brick structure constructed in 1895 to 1897. The courthouse was remodeled  in 1926 to 1927 and is still standing. The third and present courthouse was constructed in 1975 to 1976. A new courthouse is under construction in 2021 at a cost of $115,900,000.




County Courthouse – Winston-Salem



















Photos taken 2012