Davie County

US States / N / North Carolina / Davie County

Davie County is named for William Richardson Davie, who was a member of the Federal Convention.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Yadkin County and Forsyth County

E – Forsyth County and Davidson County

S – Rowan County

W – Iredell County 


Created:  December 20, 1836                Map of North Carolina highlighting Davie County

County Seat: 

Mocksville  1836 – present


County Courthouse – Mocksville


Location:  140 South Main Street / East Depot Street

Built:  1908 – 1910

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  Fall City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky

Contractor:  Fall City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Mocksville. The west front has a large porch with four columns rising to a wide header. On the center of the roof is a square cupola with white colored dome. The roof line is flat. After a fire in 1917, the courthouse was rebuilt. The architect was James Hughes and the contractor was J L Crouse. On the south side is a new two story buff colored brick addition added in 1971 and 1990.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky.


History:  The first courthouse was built by Henry R Austin on the Town Square in Mocksville in 1839. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1908 to 1910 at a cost of $40,000.




County Courthouse – Mocksville



















Photos taken 2012