Cabarrus County

US States / N / North Carolina / Cabarrus County
Cabarrus -O

Cabarrus County is named for Stephen Cabarrus, who was a member of the legislature and Speaker of the North Carolina House of Commons, and who lived from 1754 to 1808.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Iredell County and Rowan County

E – Stanly County

S – Union County

W – Mecklenburg County


Created:  November 15, 1792                Map of North Carolina highlighting Cabarrus County

County Seat: 

Concord  1792 – present


Old County Courthouse – Concord  


Location:  65 Union Street South / Barbrick Avenue

Built:  1875 – 1876

Style:  Classical Revival, Italianate,and Second Empire

Architect:  G S H Appleget

Contractor:  F W Ahrens


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story brick and stucco structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Concord and  faces onto a small park. The south front projects from the main building with large arch at the first story entrance and two smaller side arches. The building rises to a pediment with a large square clock tower on the roof behind the pediment. The main building has a mansard roof with pothole windows. The old courtroom is located on the second story. The building served as the courthouse until 1974. The brick contractor was Michael Maffitt.


County Courthouse – Concord  




Location:  77 Union Street South / Corban Avenue SW

Built:  1973 – 1975

Style:  Modern

Architect:  George A Griffin

Contractor:  Cabarrus Construction


Description:  The building faces southwest and is a three story concrete and glass structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Concord. The building and has a eight concrete pillars across the front with a recesses glass and brick wall. The concrete pillars are also along the east and west sides.The building houses the County Superior Court and County District Court of the 19th Judicial District. The courthouse is expanding and construction will be in 2020 to 2022. The architect Silling Architects and the contractor is Messer Construction.


See:  The 19th Judicial District includes Hoke County, Moore County, Randolph County and Rowan County.


History:  The county was created in 1792 and Concord was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a wood structure built in 1797 in Concord. The second courthouse was a brick structure built in 1836. The courthouse burned in 1876. The third courthouse was constructed in 1876 to 1777 and is still standing. The fourth courthouse was constructed in 1973 and 1974.


County Administration Building – Concord  




Location:  65 Church Street / Barbrick Avenue

Built:  1989 – 1990

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Dennis Yates - Yates, Chritzberg and Hughes of Concord

Contractor:  L P Cox Company of Sanford.


Description:  The building faces south and is a two story buff colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Concord to the north of the courthouse. The building has a semi-circular center section with two high brick pillars and recessed doorway and windows. Pink colored stone bands run vertical and horizontal across the exterior walls. The windows are grouped in four pane sections. The building is names as the Cabarrus County Governmental Center.



Old County Courthouse – Concord










County Courthouse – Concord







County Administration Building – Concord




Photos taken 2008