Buncombe County

US States / N / North Carolina / Buncombe County

Buncombe County is named for Edward Buncombe, who was a soldier during the American Revolutionary War and was captured at the Battle of Germantown.


Created:  December 5, 1791

County Seat: 

Asheville  1791 – present


County Courthouse – Asheville 


Location:  60 Court Plaza / College Street

Built:  1926 – 1928

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Frank Pierce Milburn of Milburn, Heister & Company of Washington, DC

Contractor:  The Angle-Blackford Company of Greensboro


Description:  The building faces west and is a seventeen story brick, steel and concrete structure. The west front has a slightly projecting three story portico with four columns rising to a wide header. The building rises in tiers with a wide cornice above the third story, recessed west front and wide cornice above the sixth story and recessed center section. There are six columns rising four stories near the top of the building. The roof line is flat.


Note:  The interior lobby contains a sweeping marble staircase, bronze and glass screens, a coffered ceiling with ornate plasterwork and a mosaic tile floor that echoes the ceiling’s tones.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by Kenneth McDowell and constructed by John A Wagner in 1903. The building was demolished.  On the south side of the present courthouse stands the large ornate Asheville City Hall.


See:  The architect Frank Pierce Milburn of Washington, DC.


County Court Building – Asheville 


Location:  60 Court Plaza / College Street

Built:  2012 – 2014

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Duncan Hargrove

Contractor:  Turner Construction Company


Description:  The building faces west and is located on the east side of the courthouse.



N – Madison County

E – Yancey County, McDowell County and Rutherford County

S – Rutherford County and Henderson County

W – Haywood County




















Photos taken 2012