Anson County

US States / N / North Carolina / Anson County

Anson County is named for George, Lord Anson, who was a celebrated English admiral and who circumnavigated the globe in 1740 to 1744.


Created:  March 17, 1749

County Seat: 

Wadesboro  1750 – present


County Courthouse – Wadesboro  


Location:  119 North Washington Street / Martin Street

Built:  1912 – 1913

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  Wheeler and Stern of Charlotte

Contractor:  Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky


Description:  The building faces west and is a two story buff colored brick and concrete structure. The building has a large porch at the front with four large columns rising to a wide header extending up to a frieze. The recessed second story windows are arched. A projecting cornice runs below the roof line.


See:  The contractor Falls City Construction Company of Louisville, Kentucky.


Note:  The first courthouse was built in 1869. The building was remodeled in 1893. The architect was A G Bauer.



N – Stanly County, Montgomery County and Richmond County 

E – Richmond County

S – Marlboro County, South Carolina and Chesterfield County, South Carolina

W – Union County










Photos taken 2008